Preliminary Program SOSP 15

Preliminary Program SOSP 15

Hypervisor-based Fault-tolerance.
Thomas C. Bressoud (ISIS Distributed Systems). Fred B. Schneider (Cornell University).
contact: fbs@cs.cornell.edu

U-Net: A User-Level Network Interface for Parallel and Distributed Computing.
Thorsten von Eicken, Anindya Basu, Vineet Buch, Werner Vogels, (Cornell University.).
contact: tve@cs.cornell.edu

Exploiting Weak Connectivity for Mobile File Access.
Lily B. Mummert, Maria R. Ebling, M. Satyanarayanan (Carnegie Mellon University).
contact: satya@cs.cmu.edu

A New Page Table for 64-bit Address Spaces.
Madhusudhan Talluri, Mark D. Hill (University of Wisconsin-Madison). Yousef A. Khalidi (Sun Microsystems Laboratories).
contact: madhu@eng.sun.com
ftp://ftp.cs.wisc.edu/markhill/Papers/sosp95_pagetables.ps

Implementing Global Memory Management in a Workstation Cluster.
Michael J. Feeley, William E. Morgan, Frederic P. Pighin, Anna R. Karlin, Henry M. Levy (University of Washington). Chandramohan A. Thekkath (DEC Systems Research Center).
contact: levy@cs.washington.edu

On Micro-Kernel Construction.
Jochen Liedtke (GMD).
contact: jochen.liedtke@gmd.de

Rover: A Toolkit for Mobile Information Access.
Anthony Joseph, Alan deLespinasse, Josh Tauber, David Gifford, M. Frans Kaashoek (MIT Laboratory for Computer Science).
contact: adj@amsterdam.lcs.mit.edu

Informed Prefetching and Caching.
R. Hugo Patterson, Garth A. Gibson, Eka Ginting, Daniel Stodolsky, Jim Zelenka (Carnegie Mellon University).
contact: rhp@cs.cmu.edu

The HP AutoRAID hierarchical storage system.
John Wilkes, Richard Golding, Carl Staelin and Tim Sullivan (Hewlett-Packard Laboratories).
contacts: wilkes@hpl.hp.com, sullivan@hpl.hp.com

CRL: High-Performance All-Software Distributed Shared Memory.
Kirk L. Johnson, M. Frans Kaashoek, Deborah A. Wallach (M.I.T.).
contact: tuna@hing.lcs.mit.edu

Managing Update Conflicts in a Weakly Connected Replicated Storage System.
Douglas B. Terry, Marvin M. Theimer, Karin Petersen, Alan J. Demers, Mike J. Spreitzer, Carl H. Hauser. (Computer Science Laboratory, Xerox PARC).
contact: petersen@parc.xerox.com

Serverless Network File Systems.
Thomas E. Anderson, Michael D. Dahlin, Jeanna M. Neefe, David A. Patterson, Drew S. Roselli, Randolph Y. Wang (University of California at Berkeley).
contact: dahlin@cs.berkeley.edu

Exokernel: an operating system architecture for application-level resource management.
Dawson R. Engler, M. Frans Kaashoek and James O'Toole Jr. (M.I.T. Laboratory for Computer Science).
contact: engler@amsterdam.lcs.mit.edu

The Impact of Architectural Trends on Operating System Performance.
Mendel Rosenblum, Edouard Bugnion, Stephen A. Herrod, Emmett Witchel, and Anoop Gupta. (Stanford University).
contact: herrod@cs.stanford.edu

The Impact of Operating System Structure on Personal Computer Performance.
J. Bradley Chen, Yasuhiro Endo, Kee Chan, David Mazières, Antonio Dias, Margo Seltzer, Michael D. Smith, (Harvard University).
contact: bchen@endor.harvard.edu

A Highly Available, Scalable ITV System.
Michael N. Nelson, Mark Linton (Silicon Graphics), Susan Owicki (independent consultant).
contact: mnelson@sgi.com

Hive: Fault Containment for Shared-Memory Multiprocessors.
John Chapin, Mendel Rosenblum, Scott Devine, Tirthankar Lahiri, Dan Teodosiu, and Anoop Gupta (Stanford University).
contact: jchapin@cs.stanford.edu

Extensibility, Safety and Performance in the SPIN Operating System
Brian N. Bershad, Stefan Savage, Przemys\l{}aw Pardyak, Emin G\"un Sirer, Marc Fiuczynski, David Becker, Susan Eggers, Craig Chambers. (Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Washington).
contact: bershad@cs.washington.edu

Optimistic Incremental Specialization: Streamlining a Commercial Operating System.
Calton Pu, Tito Autrey, Andrew Black, Charles Consel, Crispin Cowan, Jon Inouye, Lakshmi Kethana, Jonathan Walpole and Ke Zhang (Oregon Graduate Institute).
contact: synthetix-request@cse.ogi.edu

Object and Native Code Thread Mobility Among Heterogeneous Computers.
Bjarne Steensgaard (Microsoft Research).; Eric Jul (University of Copenhagen)..
contact: rusa@research.microsoft.com

Performance of Cache Coherence in Stackable Filing
John Heidemann and Gerald Popek. (University of California, Los Angeles).
johnh@ficus.cs.ucla.edu
http://ficus-www.cs.ucla.edu/ficus-members/johnh/PAPERS/sosp_95.html

Logged Virtual Memory.
David R. Cheriton and Kenneth J. Duda. (Stanford University).
cheriton@cs.stanford.edu

Return to SOSP-15 main page.

Mark Weiser (weiser@ubiq.com).
last updated July 16, 1995